I will certainly be back.

Posted on June 29, 2008. Filed under: travellers sensations | Tags: , , , |

JohnbKillarney wrote on TripAdvisor’ forum and summarizes in a few lines all the emotions that naples gave him.
Good job john! even I as Neapolitan could do better.

I looked at the Trip Advisor forums before going to Naples last week and from reading some of the comments on here I thought I had made a dreadful mistake in going there at all. I loved it !!! Napoli is a wonderful vibrant living city, It is not chocolate box pretty, nor a theme park but the sense of history is palpable. Beautiful churches everywhere, Visit the Sansevero chapel and gaze at the most fascinating, poignant and beautiful sculpture I have ever seen “the Veiled Christ by Giuseppe Sanmartino” Walk through the lovely friendly streets nearby. Visit the Archeological museum, the oldest in Europe and marvel at the mosaics and frescos recovered from Pompeii which are over 2000 years old and look as if they were created yesterday. Don’t miss visiting Pompeii itself and you will come away with the firm belief that we have invented absolutely nothing within the past two millenia apart from electricity and motorised transportation. Ischia is beautiful and well worth a visit. Take a walk along the promenade in the evening I felt perfectly comfortable strolling along it well after midnight on my way back to my hotel. The food is superb, prices are reasonable particularly when compared to Rome. I suppose to be perfectly objective about this there are a couple of observations that do need to be made. The area around the central station Piazza Garibaldi feels seedy even during daytime and I was also advised to avoid the Spanish quarter. The ongoing refuse collection issue is a little off putting and when we were there last week the aforementioned Piazza Garibaldi area was a disgrace with rubbbish piled high everywhere but it wasn’t quite so obvious in the Chiaia district where we stayed. Don’t be put off visiting Naples its a marvellous city and I will certainly be back.

Found here on Tripadvisor, today

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Hi! I’m Alex, I can help you with my reviews, experiences, photos and points of view to find and to choose the best hotels, guesthouses and pleasing structures in the heart of Napoli, for free.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

